MINUTES

Lake Patagonia Property Owners Association B
Annual Membership Meeting
10:00 am
November 4, 2023

- 1) Call to Order President Ernie Edwards called the meeting to order at 10:30 am. The following residents/property owners in attendance were: Bo Newcomb, Beth Newcomb, Avril Forest, Darla Selander, Ernie Edwards, Doug & Tammy Hamel and Michael LaFalce. Stephen DiMarzo and Tammie Wheatley attended the meeting virtually through Zoom.
- 2) It was confirmed that there was a quorum.
- 3) Approval of minutes from the 2022 meeting: 2022 minutes were passed out for review. The minutes were approved as written unanimously.
- 4) Treasurer's report: Avril Forest gave the Treasurer's report for FY 2023. The current bank balance as of \$62,556.66 represents an increase in cash reserves of \$7,869.90. The report was approved unanimously.
- 5) Road conditions: Avril Forest reported on the road conditions. The one major storm of the 2023 Monsoon season had resulted in some serious road erosion, particularly around the culvert on the lower end of Circulo Montana. Completion of the repair work has been delayed due to the contractor's equipment being repaired.
- 6) <u>Free range cattle:</u> It was agreed that the few remaining cattle were not currently causing a problem for residents. It will continue to be monitored.
- 7) Patagonia Fire Dept. Donation

It was unanimously agreed to make an annual donation of \$1,000 to the Patagonia Fire Dept.

8) Architectural Guidelines

It was agreed that during the next year, as it is possible for the HOA to revise the Association rules and regulations, that architectural guidelines should established. These, by law, are subservient to Santa Cruz Zoning and Development Code. Therefore, the HOA rules cannot be more lenient than the county code but may be more stringent. It was decided that Ernie Edwards would solicit input from members for the next several months before drafting any proposals. Beth Newcomb will be in charge of reviewing and organizing input from the members to provide to the architectural committee. Darla Selander will organize the committee. Tammie Wheatley agreed to assist on the committee.

9) Ernie Edwards gave an update on current progress on developing the South 32 mining site off Harshaw Road and the potential environmental damage. He has been coordinating extensively with local interested parties/land owners to organize meetings with local interested parties/land owners to organize meetings with representatives of the involved federal agencies and the governor's office concerning, among other things, the impact on Harshaw and Sonoita Creeks and Patagonia Lake water quality (due to the flushing of large

quantities of water down Harshaw Creek which will release toxins left in the creek bed from prior mining operations), the potential release of fine particles of manganese into the air from the mining operation which are highly toxic, and the depletion of the aquifer in the Patagonia Mountains resulting in loss of natural water sources for wildlife. It also remains an open question as to where the necessary high capacity power lines will be located to service the mine and the resulting impact on the nearby properties. He urged all residents to be proactive in the hearing process for approval of the mine and not ignore it until it is too late to have any impact. Those interested in being involved may contact Ernie for information.

10) All the ballots were tallied and included one with a write in nomination of Barbara Harris. The board remains unchanged.

Ernie Edwards – President Curt Collier – Vice President Liz Collier – Secretary Avril Forest – Treasurer Matt Wallen – Member Darla Selander – Member Al Monteverde - Member Bo Newcomb - Member

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Beth Newcomb and seconded by Michael LaFlace. At 12:10pm it was unanimously voted to adjourn.

Appointments to Committees November 4, 2023

Road Committee

Curt Collier

Architectural Committee

Darla Selander – Chair Tammie Wheatley Liz Collier Beth Newcomb – legal consultant